top of page

ADVOCATE WITH
READY-TO-SEND LETTER

Tell the LA City Council NOW

COPY & PASTE EACH SECTION IN BLACK INTO YOUR EMAIL

AND DON'T  FORGET TO ADD YOUR NAME AND ZIP CODE AT THE END

To:     

Karen.Bass@lacity.org, Paul.Krekorian@lacity.org, Councilmember.Harris-Dawson@lacity.org, Joanne.Kim@lacity.org, Councilmember.Lee@lacity.org, Hannah.Lee@lacity.org, Dan.Rosales@lacity.org, Candy.Rosales@lacity.org, Daniel.Luna@lacity.org

Cc:    Clerk.CPS@lacity.org   

Bcc:   

SaveOpenSpace@slaros.org, Katy.Yaroslavsky@lacity.org, Gary.Gero@lacity.org, Kristen.Pawling@lacity.org, Councilmember.Padilla@lacity.org, Lamont.Cobb@lacity.org, Heather.Hutt@lacity.org, Kimani.Black@lacity.org, Hakeem.Parke-Davis@lacity.org, Kristen.Pawling@lacity.org, Councilmember.Hernandez@lacity.org, Lorraine.Diaz@lacity.org, Councilmember.Blumenfield@lacity.org, Lisa.Hansen@lacity.org, Councilmember.Raman@lacity.org, Andrea.Conant@lacity.org, Councilmember.Rodriguez@lacity.org, Marie.Rumsey@lacity.org, Councilmember.Price@lacity.org, Curtis.Earnest@lacity.org, Councilmember.Park@lacity.org, Star.Parsamyan@lacity.org, Councilmember.Soto-Martinez@lacity.org, Emma.Howard@lacity.org, Ted.Walker@lacity.org, Councilmember.Kevindeleon@lacity.org, Jennifer.Barraza@lacity.org, Councilmember.Mcosker@lacity.org, Jeanne.Min@lacity.org, Patricia.Castellanos@lacity.org

Subject: 

Councilmember, please vote NO on Item 23-1101 (CD4) River Park Project

Email Body:

Dear Mayor Bass and honorable members of the L.A. City Council,

 

On Tuesday Nov. 14th, you are considering a motion to approve the Harvard Westlake River Park Project in Studio City (Case No. CPC-2020-1511-VCU-SPR, ENV-2020-1512-EIR Harvard-Westlake athletic facility project at 4047 – 4155 North Whitsett Avenue; 12506 – 12630 West Valley Spring Lane). Although this project is in CD4, many of your constituents utilize the current facilities of this property.

 

I am among thousands of local residents , neighborhood councils, environmental groups (ie. Hillside Federation, Save LA River Open Space, Save Weddington and others), recreational groups, and conservationists believe this development is just too big for this massive athletic facility on an area the public has enjoyed with hundreds of mature trees and green open space.   I believe this school, in its copious resources, is able to find a better suitable location elsewhere for their extracurricular sports activities.  At lease please consider the alternative plan submitted that will allow the removal of Field B and the school’s SECOND olympic size pool that will allow saving the precious tree canopy and green space of this property.

 

Please consider the ramifications for the city if this project proceeds in its current form.

 

I am against this project due to the adverse environmental impacts, its limited public use recreational equity opportunities, its potential to host 2000 person events even larger than the Ford Ampitheater (1200 person capacity), inclusion of artificial turf with PFAS forever chemicals, the local climate effect of heat islands created, increased noise pollution, and the burden it will be on the community in its two to three year potential construction time (noise, traffic, respiratory dangers).  

 

There is considerable fiscal and ethical risk for the city if this project proceeds.  I want to remind you the City Planning Commission had two members who are alumni  of the applicant, Harvard Westlake: Commissioner President Samantha Millman and VP Caroline Choe who chose to not recuse themselves.  By the way, Ms. Choe is a founding board member of the Harvard-Westlake Korean-American Alumni Network.  Both of these commissioners have donated in excess of thousands of dollars to the HW Foundation, not exactly as she said, ‘far removed’ from this project.  Mind you, this project is slated to be utilized for Harvard Westlake alumni fundraising events not just ‘practice fields’.

 

Please vote NO on Harvard Westlake’s River Park Project.

 

Sincerely,

Name: 

ZIP:

bottom of page